Skip to main content Skip to navigation

The College of Education is proud to again host Three Minute Thesis

March 08, 2023 — 1:00 p.m. PST — Spark Atrium

In 2014, the College of Education hosted a college-level Three Minute Thesis. Provost Dan Bernardo was part of the judging panel. His office then took it university wide starting in 2015, sponsoring the event, while the College of Education has administered it each year.

This year, for the 10th year in a row, the College of Education will hear its best and brightest doctoral students share their research.

Awards are: First Place – $1,000, Second Place – $750, Third Place – $500.

Additionally, the winner of the college event gets to take on other college winners in the WSU event, where the stakes are even higher.

CONGRATS to Johana Thomas Zapata for winning the college’s 2023 Three Minute Thesis.
Johana Thomas Zapata (left), with her advisor Amy Roth McDuffie, who also serves as the faculty representative for 3MT.

Watch 2023 event

The Starting Lineup

(Click on the individual for more info)

Estephanie Lopez Contreras

Language, Literacy, and Technology

Golrokh “Rose” Maleki

Language, Literacy, and Technology

Johana Thomas Zapata

Mathematics and Science Education


Katie Abrams

Director – WSU ROAR

Emma Ariyo

Faculty – Sport Management

Angela Hammond

Director – Undergraduate Education

Kelly McGovern

Director – Graduate Education

Yong Chae Rhee

Faculty – Sport Management